Freezing in New York.

I have landed safe and sound in the big apple. The flight was quite long, but thankfully on cross atlantic flights there are a number of films to watch to not get bored to death …

First I watched the Devil wears Prada with Anne Hathaway, Meryl StreepSimon Baker & Gisele Bundchen.

The film is about the simple and naive, recently-graduated within journalism Andrea Sachs, hired to work as the second assistant for the powerful and sophisticated Miranda Priestly, who is the ruthless and merciless executive of the Runway fashion magazine in New York.

Andrea dreams to become a journalist and faces the opportunity as a temporary professional challenge. The first assistant Emily advises Andrea about the behavior and preferences of their cruel boss, and the stylist Nigel helps Andrea to dress more adequately for the environment. Andrea changes her attitude and behavior, affecting her private life and the relationship with her boyfriend Nate, her family and friends.

In the end, Andrea learns that life is made of choices.

.Between movies I took pictures of the beautiful scenery outside:

We were soon fed and I started watching my next movie Jack Frost with Michael Keaton, Kelly Preston and Joseph Cross.

Jack Frost is a singer who’s on the road most of the time so he can’t spend a lot of time with his son Charlie, although they love each other very much.

Jack dies in a car accident and Charlie becomes a very sad young man, until… his father Jack returns as a snowman! At first he doesn’t believe his eyes, but then he realizes that now they can do all the things they’ve missed when Jack was human.

A few problems are to be solved. What will people think when they see Charlie talking to a snowman ? But more important… What will happen with Jack when the weather gets warmer?

Quite a heartwarming family film drama.

The last film I watched before we landed was Jingle all the way with Arnold Schwarzenegger, Rita Wilson and Jake Lloyd (young Anakin Skywalker in Star Wars 1)

Synopsis
Howard Langston, a salesman for a mattress company who is constantly busy at his job. He also constantly disappoints his son, and after he misses his son’s karate exposition, he tries hard to come up with a way to make it up to him. When his son tells Howard that all he wants for Christmas is an action figure of his television hero, Turbo Man.

Unfotunately for Howard, it is Christmas Eve, and every store is sold out of Turbo Man figures, now Howard must travel all over town and compete with everybody else including a mail man named Myron to find a Turbo Man action figure, and to make it to the Wintertainment parade which will feature Turbo Man.

The movie was absolutely entertaining with lots of good laughs.

Just as we flew over Montreal I had to take a picture out the window again :D I love that city and I miss it a lot (I haven’t been back since 1995 though as I miss Costa Rica more)

Landing in New York I had to get myself (and my excessive amount of luggage) in to the apple and meetup with my friend, Alexis (we met back in 1994 when he was an exchange student in Norway) at Penn station.

From there we went back to his flat with my luggage and met his toommates before we headed out again. We went to The Time Warner Center where we had dinner. Alexis had to work for 2 hours (He works as a personal trainer) and I had some time to stroll up and down Broadway.

What I had not calculated with was the temperature. It was freezing -2 degrees and I hadn’t brought clothes for those kind of temperatures. You may wonder why because New York in winter IS supposed to be cold, but up until I sat down in the plane this morning – temperatures had been between 15-20 Celcius for a week and they had predicted that kind of temperature for 2 more days (checked online), but suddenly the weather had changed and I was freezing!!
I found a place to buy a down west which warmed me a lot and I got a hat to warm my head ! Very important in the cold weather.

When Alex was done we went down to Trafalgar Square to check out the massive christmas tree there before we went home.

We had a great time together.

When we got home we spent some time talking with the roommates as well, but I was over exhausted by my long day and I worried I would become sick again due to the sudden change in temperatures (temps in Norway has not been particularly low either) and I just felt like sleeping. Alex let me have his room while he slept in the living room himself. I quickly fell asleep !

Leave a Reply

