The Andromeda Strain (1971)

When I was a kid, one late night after my parents had gone to bed, I snuck up after my bed hours to watch movies on TV. I often did that when I couldnt sleep or when they were not at home.

This particular movie impacted me a lot and I still remembered bits and pieces after all these years.
I didn’t remember any names of the actors, nor the genre, nor the name of the actual movie.

The only thing I actually did remember was the part where some scientists dressed in white space costumes comes in to a village in “the desert” (or some real remote area) to find all the people in the village dead, except a small baby and an old man that has survived. They have all been killed by a disaster. I also remember that the movie must have been filmed prior to 1995 (because I still lived at home when I watched this movie), but probably prior to the 1990’s.

This didn’t really give me enough to go with to ask people if they could help me find the name of the movie.

Its not like it has been present with me every day and night since then – I just remembered enough that I really wanted to see it again – to see what the rest of the movie was about and not just the probably only 5 minutes I remembered a lot from the movie.

After years of searching, and with the help of this website: http://www.filmsite.org/disasterfilms.html I finally remembered enough info to find out what movie I saw back then and finding the trailer for the original movie on youtube; I got it confirmed that this is the right movie.

I finally found it, downloaded and watched.
WOW. NICE ONE.

LOVED IT! Completely Happy about it!
This Sci Fi movie Rocks ! Its from 1971, Man!!… YAY

Storyline:
When virtually all of the residents of Piedmont, New Mexico are found to have died after the return to Earth of a space satellite, the head of the US Air Force’s Project Scoop declares an emergency.

Many years prior to this incident, a group of eminent scientists led by Dr. Jeremy Stone advocated for the construction of a secure laboratory facility that would serve as a base in the event an alien biological life form was returned to Earth from a space mission.

Stone and his team – Drs. Dutton, Leavitt and Hall – go to the facility, known as Wildfire and try to first isolate the life form and to determine why two people from Piedmont, an old wino and a months old baby, survived.

The scientists methodically study the alien life form unaware that it has already mutated and presents a far greater danger in the lab, which is equipped with a nuclear self-destruct device should it manage to escape.

IMDB

2 responses to “The Andromeda Strain (1971)

  1. Wasn’t there a recent remake of it? I think it was a TV-Movie, but not sure.

Leave a Reply

