Feliz Dia de Independencia Costa Rica!

Congratulations to Costa Rica on their Celebration of their Independence!

My beautiful second country !

Normally I have celebrated Costa Ricas Independence at the Costa Rican embassy in Norway, however this year I heard from several people that the embassy has sent information, but not all had recieved the invite. However  I had other plans of my own. It DID include something to do with Costa Rica though.

When I was an exchange student in Costa Rica back in 1993 we were 10 exchange students there with the same year program I was in. However that particular year there was also a group of 5 students that participated to a university program (to my knowledge that was the only time they ever ran that program at all from AFS). When I now speak of such low numbers as 15 of course I only speak of Norwegians. The total number of participants were over 150 from all over the world.

Gaute was one of the Norwegians I not only got to know when I was there, but also he is one of the ones that I have kept more in touch with after we came home. He lived only 20 minutes walk from my granmas house and each time I went to visit her we also met up. Later he moved to Spain, but even when we met every 5 years – we had no problem finding things to talk about and hence maintained the friendship.

Today we had planned to meet, actually we have planned to meet several times lately, but not been able to due to excessive work amounts. Finally today it was and just as we sat down having dinner – I just remembered.. Hmm its the 15th today… Its actually Costa Ricas national day today.
This is a bit funny because our very first meeting ever was at the Norwegian embassy in San Jose, Costa Rica, where we celebrated the Norwegian National day in 1993.

We had a very nice time catching up and Gaute telling me about his life and his woman (which I hope to meet sometimes soon) and life plans. I love it when my friends are happy and have made a nice life for themselves !

We also talked about making a reunion for the Norwegians that were in Costa Rica with us. How nice would that be. Its been 18 years already. 10 years since our last reunion … Wow. That sure is a long time since.

Great evening out and great time. Happy Birthday CR !

Leave a Reply

