Returning Home

I’m home. Its been an awesome journey of 5 full weeks and I have had an amazing time with my friends and my “family” in Costa Rica.

I just got home and I was greeted by a very happy little kitty that seems thoroughly pleased to see his “mom” again.

My day started out at 5 am when Mami woke me up. We had breakfast and got my stuff out into the car and took off for the airport.

At the airport we managed to talk the counter lady into letting me having a few kilos too much luggage in each of the bags to not carry too much (I was paying 270 USD in overweight after all for the 2 extra suitcases). Then I had to say goodbye to my lovely family again and go through security.

The flight from Liberia was 1,5 hours late and we were not able to save sufficuent time in flight time to Houston to make it to my next flight in time. The gate had closed and the flight was taking off just as we landed in Houston and I had to pick up my luggage (which had arrived already when I got to the luggage pick-up area) before we were met by a airline crew that had lots of new boarding cards, but unfortunately not mine, and then rush through customs and then to the Continental desk to get new boarding cards and then hand over the luggage without the desk crew realizing I had added about 10 kgs to the legal weight from the pick up counter to the handing it in. The desk crew booked me into a flight to New York that left me with less than 1 hour in Houston (and George W Bush International airport is HUGE) and because I was in such a rush I didnt have to show my reciepts that I had payed overweight for the luggage :D

Finally on the wings again I watched movies on my way to New York to make time fly. First up was Immortals.

Immortals stars Henry Cavill, Kellan Lutz and Stephen Dorff among others.

“Eons after the Gods won their mythic struggle against the Titans, a new evil threatens the land.

Mad with power, King Hyperion (Mickey Rourke) has declared war against humanity. Amassing a bloodthirsty army of soldiers disfigured by his own hand, Hyperion has scorched Greece in search of the legendary Epirus Bow, a weapon of unimaginable power forged in the heavens by Ares.

Only he who possesses this bow can unleash the Titans, who have been imprisoned deep within the walls of Mount Tartaros since the dawn of time and thirst for revenge. In the king’s hands, the bow would rain destruction upon mankind and annihilate the Gods. But ancient law dictates the Gods must not intervene in man’s conflict. They remain powerless to stop Hyperion…until a peasant named Theseus (Henry Cavill) comes forth as their only hope. Secretly chosen by Zeus, Theseus must save his people from Hyperion and his hordes…”

When Immortals finished i started watching Breaking Dawn, which I haven’t seen since the movies premiere in November last year. I won’t introduce this film any further as you can rather read the review of the film from the premiere instead.

Arriving New York I had 40 Minutes from landing to the new flight took off and thankfully the gates were pretty close. I managed to get some food before I boarded the plane to Norway.

We left Newark at 8 pm and I tried staying awake for long enough to watch the Rum Diaries and get food before falling asleep, but once the food was cleared off I paused the Rum Diary and fell asleep. I did continue watching it in the morning  when I woke up again while having my breakfast.

The Rum Diary
Hard-drinking journalist Paul Kemp takes a job at a besieged newspaper in San Juan, Puerto Rico. His volatile editor, Lotterman, assigns him to tourist pieces and horoscopes, but promises more.

Paul rooms with Sala, an aging and equally alcoholic reporter, in a rundown flat.

Sanderson, a wealthy entrepreneur, hires Paul to flack for a group of investors who plan to buy an island near the capital and build a resort.

Sanderson’s girl-friend, the beguiling Chenault, bats her eyes at Paul. His loyalties face challenges when he and Sala get in trouble with locals, when a Carnival dance enrages Sanderson, and when the paper hits the skids. Is the solution always alcohol?

I have a favourite quote from this movie. Paul first day on Puerto Rico he wakes up with the worst hang-over ever, blood shot eyes and competely confused when the bell-boy comes to his room. The bell boy sees the room trashed and the minibar is on its back on the floor and bell boy says: You know the Keys are in the drawer?
Paul looks up at him and rushes over to the minibar – opens it up and says:

I was looking for some nuts. I tend to ignore alcohol—when I can…

We landed well and sound back in Norway and I took the bus back home to my apartment and my home. Right now Im tired, sad and still sick. Thankfully its saturday. I can rest some after the trip – I just need to stay awake now. To get adjusted as soon as possible.

But today Im just going to enjoy being at home – and spend some quality time with my cat.

2 responses to “Returning Home

  1. Lars Erik Solhaug

    Hei! Ser at du har vært i Costa Rica og at du har truffet Turid Delgado.Jeg skal reise til Costa Rica i juli,for å lete etter slekt til min adopterte sønn.Lurer på om du har mail adr.til Turid.Tenkte å spørre henne om hjelp og råd.jeg bor i Fosnavåg.Ser at du har slekt der.Turid hadde vår sak når vi var i Costa Rica. :)

Leave a Reply

