Touring Amsterdam and Returning to Norway

This morning I woke up at 9am which was just about perfect. I had a shower and Liewe came home from night shift just about when I was done. Liewe woke up as well and we all had a lovely breakfast with a figjam which was absolutely awesome!

After breakfast we took a stroll along the canal to get to the tram to Amsterdam Centraal where I stored my luggage and then we went to explore Amsterdam. We took a new tram to get up to the area of the ‘de negen straatjes’. We passed the Anne Frank house where there was a huge line of people that wanted to get in.

After that we passed by the lovely canals, we entered a tulip museum and we even found a couple of newly weds:

As we passed the many charming streets of De Negen Straatjes we found an amazing bike! It has been rebuildt to look like a car ! I love it!

We also had to stop by the Amsterdam flower market where I picked up lots of tulips. I bought quite a few that I will use as gifts, but of course I bought some for my own “garden” (read veranda) :D

After we were done at the Flower Market, we went to the Dam Square where the Royal Palace, the National Monument, and the 15th-century Gothic Nieuwe Kerk is located and then we went to an icecream bar on ‘De nieuwmarkt’ was called the Ijskuypje.

At 2pm we had to head back to the Centraal station where we had to split up and I had to leave Amsterdam to go to the airport.

Liewe and Lien, my friends and my hosts for my stay in Amsterdam!

I picked up my luggage and at the Central station and hoppeed on the train towards Schipol Airport.

On my way to the airport I saw that commercial again and I got confirmed my latest new dutch word; Plofkip.

Once at the airport I checked in and went shopping. I came very close to buying the new Samsung Galaxy SIII, but it was a bit too costly there and I decided to leave it behind. However I did go shopping for flowers. I brought home 2 huge bouquets of flowers. One for myself and one as a birthday present for my best friend whos birthday is tomorrow. I bought her some beautiful soft purple roses. I also bought a new perfume and then I had dinner before I flew back home.

At home my cat was waiting for me and it was so nice to see him again. I miss him just as much each time I’m gone, and it’s funny to see him actually be so happy to see me again too!
I had to pop out for some groceries so I brought him with me, stopped by the store and then dropped by my friends house to hand over her flowers and her other birthday gifts as well.

A really nice day from beginning to start !

Leave a Reply

