Planting Tulips

In August when I was in Den Haag and Amsterdam of the Netherlands I bought with me Tulip Bulbs.

Tulips have to be planted during fall to be outside all winter and to start growing with the first hint of spring, so today I have planted my Tulip bulbs!

The first thing I did was to go for a rock hunt! I drove off to the edge of the forest (where I also went for a long walk picking mushrooms, but that is a different story and not nearly interesting enough to be told today) and at the parking lot I found a huge amount of rocks that I brought with me home. These I put in the bottom of the new home for the Tulips, to avoid the earth rotting when it starts raining heavily during fall or spring (or summer as we are in Norway).

Then I filled the pot half way with earth and unpacked the Tulip Bulbs from their bags and placed them strategically on top of the earth.
The Tulips I have bought are called Black Parrot, Honeymoon and Ice Cream.

Once all the Tulip Bulbs were equally spread all over the pot, I filled it with more earth (about 10 cm).

Now all I have to do is to cover them up so they don’t freeze to death during the winter months and wait for spring to see if the Tulips survived the Norwegian winter :D

One response to “Planting Tulips

  1. Pingback: Tiptoe through the Tulips… | Shut The Bark Up!

Leave a Reply

