Holidays in Italy. Starting in Rome

So this morning I was up and out of bed early to get to the airport in time for my flight to Rome. At the airport was the longest checkin queue I have seen in Gardermoen ever. Fair enough, there were technical problems and electricity prolems that caused the luggage not being chartered of to the right airplanes, but still… However the security scan was over quickly.

The flight was uneventful and done in 3 hours and when I landed my friend Anni had sent me a text message saying she was waiting for me at the airport. Together we took the train to our respective stations and checked in to each our hotels nearby each other. The funny thing with Anni is that we met by chance in the beginning and once we started visiting each other, we suddenly realized that; Hey, we have met in so many countries… Actually one country per time we have met. We need to make it into a sport. So we continued and this is the 9th time we meet, and the 9th country (We have met at 2 airports as well outside of these 9 times, but they don’t count as they were in the international zone).

I was dead tired and Anni had a spa treatment so we each had a nice sleep before we were meant to meet up tonight, but I did have a afternoon walk first and found this amazing food store called Eataly where they sold only best quality products of everything. I haven’t seen so many cheeses gathered in one place before.. Oh so yummy.

01 Pasta

Fresh Pasta at Eataly, Piramide Train station

02 Cheese

Ham and Cheese department at Eataly. Yummy!

I met Anni at 8pm and we went downtown to have dinner at this lovely Restaurant close to via Veneto, called Lo Stil Novo. Just by giving us complimentary Prosecco when arriving I liked this place. The Prosecco was a Vettori from Valdobbiadene. Lovely.

03 Stil Nuovo

For a starter I had baked aubergine with Mozarella, Parmesan and Aubergine sauce. It was delicious.

04 fusili

As a Primi Piatti I had seafood spagetti and with it we had a Corte Sant’Alda white from Valpolicella Ripasso, Campi Magri. Lovely combination.

05 Duck

My main course was Duck on vegetables and it was really good. The wine to go with it was lovely, but I forgot the name of that one.

We took a cab home and by that time it was quite late already.

In a total today I walked over 17000 steps and had a very, very nice day!

One response to “Holidays in Italy. Starting in Rome

  1. That’s why people say “Eat Italian” best food in the world.

Leave a Reply

